Communication Student Groups


Lambda Pi Eta National Communication Honor Society

What is it?

A national honor society founded in 1985 in order to:

  • Recognize, fosLambda Pi Eta badgeter & reward outstanding achievement in communication
  • Stimulate interest in the field of communication
  • Promote & encourage professional development among Comm majors
  • Provide and opportunity to discuss & exchange ideas in the Comm field
  • Establish & maintain closer relationships between faculty & students
  • Explore options for graduate education in communication

Who is eligible?

Students who:

  • Have completed 90 units (junior standing)
  • Have completed at least 2 UD Comm Courses
  • Have a GPA of at least 3.25 in Communication courses
  • Are a currently enrolled student with an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • Display a commitment to the field of communication

Interested in joining?

Download an application here.

Submit completed application no later than November 1, 2017. Include a copy of your unofficial transcript and your one-time $50 fee (made payable to Lambda Pi Eta), and submit the materials to the Lambda Pi Eta faculty advisor: Dr. Cynthia Stohl: cstohl@comm.ucsb.edu

Questions?

Contact the UCSB chapter of Lambda Pi Eta at ucsblambdapieta@gmail.com.

Learn about upcoming meetings and events on our Facebook page.

Please visit the national Lambda Pi Eta website for additional information.


American Marketing Association

The University of California, Santa Barbara, American Marketing Association is a collegiate chapter of the American Marketing Association. UCSB students of all majors are given the opportunity to understand and become experienced in the field of marketing.

AMA is dedicated to furthering students’ education outside the classroom in the field of marketing. We offer hands-on experience through marketing projects, workshops and internship opportunities that allow students to put their marketing knowledge to practical use. Throughout the year we also offer social and professional events that allow members to network with like-minded students and local professionals.

Our goal is to give our members exclusive access to internships, keep them up-to-date on current marketing trends, and allow them to learn first-hand from local guest speakers. Together, we are forming a community of young enthusiasts who are excited to delve into the many facets of marketing.

MEETING TIMES: Bi-weekly meetings on Wednesday nights at 6:30 PM. Location varies.

MEMBERSHIP FEES: $60 for the quarter, $78 for the year, inclusive of membership to the national American Marketing Association and an official AMA Certificate awarded at the quarterly Induction Ceremony. Checks can be made out to UCSB AMA and the application can be found here. First meeting is free!

Contact Us

View our Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ucsbmarketing.

Visit our website: http://ucsbama.wordpress.com.

Contact the UCSB AMA Chapter at amaucsb@gmail.com.

Contact Karen Myers, AMA Faculty advisor, at myers@comm.ucsb.edu.


 

 

Communication Association at UCSB

Welcome!

The Communication Association at UCSB is a student-run organization dedicated to providing students with an outlet to explore the multi-faceted Communication major. The club offers students a place to participate in workshops, internship mixers, career panels, and networking opportunities. Read more about the Association in the Gaucho Communicator and check out our Facebook Page.

For those of you who are not communication majors, we also want to encourage you to look into what our organization has to offer. The Communication Association can help those studying all fields because communication is essential to our everyday lives. Communication is the primary function in our relationships, networking, personal lives, and is a vital component of all careers.

EVENT TIMES: Tuesdays at 6:30pm during 2nd, 4th, 6th and 8th weeks of each quarter. Location varies.

MEMBERSHIP DUES: $10 for the school year

NON-MEMBER FEES: $3 for each event

 

Communication Association Officers and Contact Information (2017-18)

Visit our Facebook page for details on our events and other opportunities.

President: Jacqueline Vierra || jacquelinevierra@gmail.com

Vice President: Jennifer Lin || ca.vicepres@gmail.com

Director of Event Planning: Larissa Yllescas || lyllescas@umail.ucsb.edu

Director of Event Planning: Daniel Clark || dclark@umail.ucsb.edu

Director of Membership: Kendell Gandee || kendellgandee@gmail.com

Director of Social Media & Publicity: Kacie Gile || kcgile@pipeline.sbcc.edu

Director of Treasury & Development: Annie Telalyan || annietelalyan@yahoo.com

Director of Campus Relations & Engagement: Isabel Moon || isabel.moon329@gmail.com

Director of Community Involvement: Tonya Youssefi || tonya.youssefi@yahoo.com

Director of Leadership Development: Megan Shakespeare || meganshakespeare@live.com

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Desiree Aldeis || mdaldeis@comm.ucsb.edu