Awards Ceremony

Each year the Department of Communication hosts an award ceremony that recognizes graduate and undergraduate students who have excelled in the program.  The ceremony acknowledges the national and international awards that faculty have received during the year, graduate student accomplishments and milestones, the undergraduates who have served as research assistants, and students inducted into Lambda Pi Eta, the Communication Studies honor society.  In addition, the Department presents special awards in three categories:  undergraduate, graduate, and service.

Undergraduate Awards

Steven H. Chaffee Award for Excellence in Research.  This award, established to honor the scholarship and personal qualities of Steven H. Chaffee, is given to an undergraduate Communication major who has been directly involved with empirical research in any area of the field. 

Distinction in the Major.  This award is presented to undergraduates who participated in the department’s honor program and who completed a senior honors project and thesis with distinction. 

Award for Academic Excellence.  This award is presented to undergraduate students who have maintained a 3.8 or higher GPA during their academic careers and who have upheld the university’s standards of academic excellence. 

Communication Alumni Association Service Award.  This award is presented to a graduating senior in recognition of outstanding service, leadership, and involvement in the growth of undergraduate students in the department.

Please click here for more details on, and past winners of, these undergraduate awards.

Graduate Student Awards

James J. Bradac Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Research.  This award is presented to a graduate student who has made significant contributions to the field of human communication through a record of prodigious publications and research projects during the student's career. 

George D. McCune Dissertation Fellowship.  This award, established in honor of George D. McCune, co-founder of SAGE Publications, is presented to recognize excellence in graduate student research and to provide funding during the dissertation writing process. 

Edwin Schoell Award for Excellence in Teaching.  This award, established in honor of Edwin Schoell, past Chair of the department, is awarded to a graduate student who has set an example of outstanding service through interaction with undergraduate students, high quality classroom performance, and use of good pedagogical techniques.

Outstanding Graduate Student Service Award.  This award is given to a graduate student in recognition of and involvement in the intellectual and professional life of the department through leadership in such activities as graduate recruitment weekend, workshops and colloquia, and departmental events.

Click here for more details on, and past winners of, these graduate awards.

Service to the Department Award

Sara Miller McCune Award for Service to the Department.  This award is named in honor of Sara Miller McCune, co-founder and Past President of SAGE Publications.  Awarded to someone outside the department in recognition of and involvement in the intellectual and professional life of the department.  This person could be a community member, alumnus, faculty member, or staff who has made major contributions to the intellectual and professional life of our department.  Nomination process:  Faculty nomination letter documenting the intellectual contributions and professional involvement that this person has given to the Department of Communication.  The award does not have to be given every year.

1994 Sara Miller McCune ♦ 1995 Steve Ainsley ♦ 1996, 1997 not given ♦ 1998 Lt. John Thayer ♦ 1999 Kenneth Harwood ♦ 2000 Arthur N. Rupe ♦ 2001, 2002 not given ♦ 2003 Sherry Dedecker ♦ 2004 Shane Jimerson ♦ 2005. 2006, 2007, 2008 not given ♦ 2009 Susan Goodale ♦ 2010 Deb Artz ♦ 2011 Laura Roenick ♦ 2012 Jonathan B. DeLong ♦ 2013 Dr. Nancy Collins ♦ 2014 Lt. Todd Stoney, Santa Barbara Police Department ♦ Brittany Manzer ♦