Departmental Graduate Awards

Graduate Student Awards by Year

Annual Department Awards

James J. Bradac Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Research

The Bradac Award is presented to a graduate student who has made significant contributions to the field of human communication through a record of prodigious publications and research projects.  A variety of research activities will be considered for the award including: publications, conference papers, grants, papers submitted for publication or under review, works in press, and book chapters.  The committee will place considerable emphasis on the quality of the work and its outcome.  Faculty members and/or peers can nominate the graduate students or graduate students can self-nominate (self nominations are strongly encouraged) by submitting a CV and narrative statement.  Nomination process:  Curriculum vitae of the graduate student that contains details on research and publications and a brief narrative that the nominee provides describing the nature and scope of his/her research activities.

Award Winners: 1992-93 Angela Williams ♦ 1993-94 Audrey Weiss ♦ 1994-95 James Harwood ♦ 1995-96 Charles Mullin ♦ 1996-97 Stacy Smith ♦ 1997-98 Jennifer Waldeck ♦ 1998-99 Bryant Paul ♦ 1999-2000 Hee Sun Park ♦ 2000-01 Valerie Barker and Ashley Duggan ♦ 2001-02 Robert Mccann ♦ 2002-03 Nicholas Palomares ♦ 2003-04 Rene Dailey ♦ 2004-05 Jennifer Fortman ♦ 2005-06 Mikaela Marlow ♦ 2006-07 Emily Moyer-Guse ♦ 2007-08 not given ♦ 2008-09 Andrea Joseph ♦ 2009-10 Abby Prestin ♦ 2010-11 Amanda Denes  ♦ 2011-12 Jessica Gasiorek ♦ 2012-13 Andrew Zhang ♦ 2013-14 Marko Dragojevic ♦ 2015 Kimberly Walsh ♦ 2016-17 DaJung (DJ) Woo ♦ 2017-18 Alex Sink

George D. McCune Dissertation Fellowship

Established by George D. McCune, founder of SAGE Publications, this award provides 3-quarter fees, tuition, and stipend to a graduate student who is in the process of writing a dissertation.  It is based on two criteria:  demonstrated excellence in scholarship and promise of successfully completing a dissertation that will yield broad and meaningful contributions to the social scientific study of communication and to the advancement of knowledge in a specialized area of the field.  Qualifications:  1) advancement to Ph.D. candidacy by the beginning of Fall, 2) working in residence on their dissertation for the entire academic year.  Students who are currently working on qualifying exams or who plan to do so should apply. Nomination process:  1) complete application cover sheet, 2) one-page, single-spaced letter of application that addresses the nominee’s progress to date and how the fellowship will benefit the applicant, 3) 2-page (single spaced) dissertation proposal, 4) curriculum vitae, and 5) one letter of recommendation from a faculty member that addresses the student’s academic progress, merits of the dissertation, and likelihood of completion during the subsequent year. Please download the complete description of the Fellowship and requirements and application form.  

Award Winners: 1995-96 Laura Jansma ♦ 1996-97 Stacy Smith ♦ 1997-98 Karen Erlandson and Jennifer Hallett ♦ 1998-99 Shari Ross Altarac ♦ 2000-01 Christopher Hajek ♦ 2001-02 Robert McCann ♦ 2002-03 Jessica Abrams and Bryant Pau ♦ 2003-04 Rene Dailey ♦ 2004-05 Zhengyu (Mike) Yao ♦ 2005-06 Karyn Riddle ♦ 2006-07 Sahara Byrne ♦ 2007-08 Rena Rudy ♦ 2008-09 Ryan Medders ♦ 2009-10 Lucy Popova ♦ 2010-11 Bernadette Gailliard ♦ 2011-12 Andrew Zhang ♦ 2012-13 Stephanie Robbins ♦ 2013-14 Anne Merrill ♦ 2014-15 Ariel Hasell ♦ 2015-16 Richard Huskey ♦ 2016-17 Scott Banghart ♦ 2017-18 Alex Sink

Edwin Schoell Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

Named in honor of Edwin Schoell, Professor Emeritus and past Chair of the Department of Communication, this award honors a graduate student who has set an example of outstanding service through interaction with undergraduate students.  Qualifications for the award include:  high quality classroom performance, use of good pedagogical techniques, professional attitude and manner, substantial assistance to course directors, motivation in team membership, and building colleagues’ morale.  The nominee should also demonstrate innovative techniques in the classroom and serve as a role model for fellow teaching assistants.  Nomination process: Nominations from faculty, fellow graduate students, and self nominations are encouraged for this award.  Names of nominees should be submitted to the chair of the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee chair will then contact the nominated graduate students and inform them that they have been nominated, ask them to submit a curriculum vita with teaching experiences and a summary of the lower and upper division teaching activities and how they envision their role as teachers.  The nominee should NOT ask faculty to write letters of recommendation.  The Awards Committee will solicit these letters from the faculty and/or fellow graduate students.  The Awards Committee will also obtain any other support materials, such as ESCI scores for the nominees.  No other documentation should be submitted.

Award Winners: 1986-87 Janet Lutkenhouse ♦ 1987-88 Angela Grandbouche ♦ 1988-89 Karla Siegal and Catherine Weissenberg ♦ 1989-90 Dorothy Mullin ♦ 1990-91 Laura Leets ♦ 1991-92 Susan Fox ♦ 1992-93 Timothy Cole ♦ 1993-94 Laura Jansma ♦ 1994-95 Sunwolf ♦ 1995-96 Jennifer Hallett ♦ 1996-97 Shari Ross Altarac ♦ 1997-98 Margaret Prescott ♦ 1998-99 Kirstie Cope ♦ 1999-00 Dawna Ballard ♦ 2000-01 Jessica Abrams ♦ 2001-02 Carmen Lee ♦ 2002-03 Daisy Lemus ♦ 2003-04 Peg Suding ♦ 2004-05 Charles Mahood ♦ 2005-06 Mirit Shoham ♦ 2006-07 Paul Myers ♦ 2007-08 Tenzin Dorjee ♦ 2008-09 Elisia Sim ♦ 2009-10 Courtney Davis ♦ 2010-11 Stephanie Robbins ♦ 2011-12 Desiree Aldeis and Alex Markov ♦ 2012-13 Shardé Davis ♦ 2013-14 Audrey Abeyta ♦ 2014-15 Becky Robinson ♦ 2015-16 Spencer Nicholls ♦ 2016-17 Quinten Bernhold

Outstanding Graduate Student Service Award

This award is given to a graduate student in recognition of and involvement in the intellectual and professional life of the Department of Communication.  Examples of this leadership might include (but are in no way limited to) organizing recruitment weekend, organizing workshops for teaching assistants, organizing department colloquia and brownbag seminars, trouble shooting problems in the department and addressing them, and helping with departmental events.  This award may or may not be awarded every year.  Nomination process:  Faculty members and/or peers can nominate the graduate students or graduate students can self-nominate by submitting a CV and a narrative statement that describes the nature and scope of his/her departmental service/leadership activities.

Award Winners: 2011-12 Ryan Fuller ♦ 2012-13 Eric Zackrison ♦ 2013-14 Richard Huskey ♦ 2014-15 Aubrie Adams ♦ 2015-16 Spencer Nicholls ♦ 2016-17 Audrey Abeyta